Spread the word to end the word

My relationship with God has always been important to me.  One of the first thi11309-copy-5ngs I remember learning about Him was that He didn’t love anyone else one bit more or one bit less than He did me. It’s funny how the concept of equality that was such a blessing to me years ago is such a curse to me now, as the older I get, I constantly find myself making judgments… judgments that are not only unfounded and none of my business, but wrong. Whether I’m driving down the street, eating out, or sitting in a meeting … in one glance, one conversation, and one fell swoop, without even thinking about it, I way catch myself judging someone or something.  It drives me nuts, and I have to work on it all the time. 

The “Spread the Word to End the Word Campaign” is all about getting people to eliminate the word retard and/or retarded from their vocabulary.  I believe using the “R” word has a lot to do with our casual habit of making spontaneous, unfounded assumptions.  Breaking any habit isn’t easy, but it can and must be done.  It begins with a commitment.  Today – join me and thousands of others by pledging to take a stand. When you hear the “R” word, make it a teachable moment by reminding whoever said it that everyone is meant to be loved.

www.r-word.org

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Spread the word to end the word

  1. mary

    Thanks for taking the pledge and for making the world a little bit sweeter.

Leave a Reply

