Nice Hat.

There are days when I can barely figure out what my thoughts are – let alone write about them.  When that happens sometimes I pull out a huge envelope of athlete photos, and it is there I find inspiration.

I’m sure most of you reading this would agree that right now in our world there is a lot of sadness and some pretty depressing things going on.  It’s not hard to go through the day heavy-hearted.  I think most of us would like to help bring comfort or relief, but if you are like me, you just aren’t always sure how to really do that in a way that truly makes a difference.

We can’t always change our circumstances or anyone else’s for that matter, but there is something we can do that doesn’t cost a dime or take a lot of effort. By intentionally shifting our focus from WHAT is going on to WHO is in our space – followed by a few friendly words or a compliment – you can really lift someone’s spirit and make their day and your day nicer.  Last week I read about two students from Purdue University who stood on campus every Wednesday holding a sign that said “Free Compliments.”  After three weeks they noticed that people were intentionally going out of their way to walk past  them just to hear a kind word.  Now that may sound corny, but here’s the thing.

Try it.  Focus on someone in your space – say a kind word or two- and then see what reaction you get.   I’d love to hear your story.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Nice Hat.

  1. Hi, Randy –

    First of all, I’m certain you do something every day that brings comfort. I don’t know you well, but that’s been my take whenever I have seen you in action.

    Secondly, I’m finally learning how important it is to be plainly, simply generous and straightforward with compliments to others. No compliments that are hard to figure out, no snarky comments or sharp-edged witticisms wrapped around the compliments. Just saying nice things to people. It’s easy, it’s kind, and it lifts the spirits of both receiver and giver.

    Thanks for starting my day off right.

    Best regards,
    Melinda

Leave a Reply

