Identity

Any time we gather as a State for a Special Olympics competition, I love looking at us.  I know that may sound funny, but I have always believed that what we wear in the world of sport is far more than just a “fashion statement.”  It’s an evolutionary statement.

Years ago – I thought Special Olympics New Mexico looked recreational.  We showed up in shorts and t-shirts and some type of athletic shoe, and just by looking, you couldn’t really tell in what sports we were competing or to what team we even belonged.

Today we look a lot more like a sports program that takes itself seriously.

To me, what we’re wearing today says “I’m part of this team – this is who I am – and I’m proud of it.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

