Out

Today I had the pleasure of being interviewed by a group of artists – all with intellectual disabilities – all members of Very Special Art’s North Fourth Art Center. What a treat. They are in a “newsletter class” and will be writing an article about Special Olympics in an upcoming edition. I could tell that putting their art into the community was important to them, and I loved that.

At the end of the interview I gravitated to the one artist closest to my age. Christina Caraveo. She had a New Mexico artist look about her – beautiful silver hair, earthy, rich in culture. She shared that she writes poetry, works with clay, and hchristinaas done some quilting. This accomplished woman also competed in Special Olympics aquatics years ago. I asked her what about being an artist she liked and this is what she told me – “It lets what I feel in my heart out.”

When she said that I realized athletes and artists have something in common – the love of participation and the celebration of human potential. Both matter for the sake that every person deserves the opportunity to let what they feel in their heart out. Let it be our part to create an environment where nothing matters more than giving all people the chance to try.

group

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

