Olympic Moms

If you, like me, have spent every waking moment the past few days watching the Winter Games in Sochi, you have probably noticed there have been a number of stories, interviews, and camera shots on the Moms of those athletes who are competing.  Maybe because Procter & Gamble is running their “Proud Sponsor of Moms” commercials, or because I have simply been fortunate enough in my life to meet literally thousands of women who have birthed athletes of all abilities – my Thoughts today are from three Special Olympics Moms who have been kind enough to share what they think and feel while watching their child compete.  (Before I go any further – let me say that I am also a huge fan of “Dads” but will approach that subject at another time.)jeffnancy

“When my daughter was born with Down Syndrome, I had no idea where she was headed.  She had heart issues, and all I had to hang onto was what I hoped she would be able to do.  Today, I am grateful for where she is.  Her favorite Special Olympics sport is aquatics.  To me it’s never about her touching the wall first, but all about her finishing the race.”    Val

“I became Mom to my daughter when I married her father.  I had kids – he had kids – and it just so happened that one of his had Down Syndrome.  Because I didn’t know one thing about that, I guess I didn’t know she supposedly couldn’t do things, so my expectations of her weren’t any different.  Today, when I’m watching her compete, I feel like I am in the middle – right there with her.  It’s like I am a part of her.  She is the light of my life, and don’t tell him I said this, but her Dad was just a bonus.” 🙂    Carol

“When I watch her compete in Special Olympics I see normalcy in a non-normal world.  The things that have held and continue to hold her back are gone, and she is simply an athlete and not one bit different than those competing in Sochi.  My daughter understands she has a disability and as frustrating as that has been for her, Special Olympics made it acceptable.  I am so proud of her, and like a lot of Moms whose kids are athletes, my biggest challenge has never been her disability but teaching her to lose gracefully.”    Dustie

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Olympic Moms

  1. Anonymous

    God bless moms and DADs and RANDY!

Leave a Reply

