Ten

I would bet many of us have already started giving thought to Thanksgiving Day.  Travel plans, menus, who will and won’t be at the table – lots of thoughts swirling around in people’s minds about the day that was created specifically to give thanks for the blessing of the harvest.thJ22ARKN2

I love Thanksgiving – even the ones that I have spent by myself.  I love the smells, the tastes, and I especially love what it means.

Not long ago a friend of mine extended this challenge to me.  Each morning before I leave my house, he challenged me to think about ten things I have experienced in my daily life that I am thankful for.  Once I have identified what those are, I am to thank God for them.  I have found that the daily practice of doing that is helping me to realize that many of the things I take for granted are the very things that most deserve my gratitude.  I have also noticed that simply taking the time to recognize those ten things has been a blessing in itself.

Today, I am challenging you to do the same.  Ten things every morning – before you start your day.  TEN.  Give thanks and I would bet, like me, you will notice what another friend of mine once said – “that even though he had a very small heart, it could hold a rather large amount of gratitude.”

Wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

