Be At It

Skills AthleteA few weeks ago I wrote thank you cards to a group of individuals whose company collectively and individually through their clients made a nice contribution to Special Olympics New Mexico.  In those cards I quoted three of the “Beatitudes for Friends of People with Disabilities.”  For those of you who haven’t heard of the Beatitudes, in their original form they can be found in the Gospel of Matthew where there are eight different blessings that are written with two phrases – a condition and a result.

There are different versions of “Beatitudes for Friends of People with Disabilities” but I found these three to be the most relevant in my life right now.  I have spent time not only giving thought to these, but giving thought to my falling short of the results.

“Blessed are those who see past the disability of my mind and body – to see the shape of my soul.”

“Blessed are those who love me just as I am without wondering what I might have been like.”

“Blessed are those who believe God put me here to bring out the best in others.”

Seeing the shape of someone’s soul, loving someone just as they are, and believing that every person was put on this earth with a purpose in mind serves as a good self evaluation tool that speaks not only of who we are now, but how we will be remembered once we’re gone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

