1992

Last Friday at our Board of Directors meeting, the Board and staff surprised me by celebrating my twenty-five years as the Executive Director of Special Olympics New Mexico.  The celebration was humbling, heart-warming, and very thoughtful.

For the past 25 years it truly has been a privilege to serve our athletes and work along side many wonderful people, who have had a profound impact on our organization, and on my life, as well.  As an athlete and a coach from years ago, I have shared repeatedly from personal experience that playing the game of your life is great, but over the years you tend to forget the plays, the score, the celebration – however, never do you forget those that you have played with.  I have been richly blessed.  Thank you Special Olympics New Mexico.

After the meeting, I rummaged through my files and found some things from that first year on the job.  My intent today is to share with you my thoughts from all those years ago – a page from one of our first publications.  And with it, just for fun – a staff photo for all of you “old-timers.”

1992 - Randy

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

