Listen

This past weekend we travelled to Farmington for our Four Corner’s Invitational – statewide competition in golf, softball, aquatics, and soccer.  I loved these Games, and interestingly  found myself taking as much time listening to them as watching them.   I have chosen to share three things that I heard.  The first from a corporate volunteer; the second from a newspaper reporter sent to write about the Games; and the third from a bright-eyed eight year old boy who was competing for the first time.

1)  “When you get the right people doing the right things – there is nothing we can not do.”

2)  “For me, this has turned out to be eye-opening.  I had no idea the range of abilities and how hard these athletes work to perform the best that they can. These athletes have changed me.”

3)  “Mom – I can hardly wait for next year!”

There is a verse in the Book of Matthew that tells us “The things that come out of the mouth come from the heart.”  I am glad I listened, and I think we just don’t do it enough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment